The Tour de Yorkshire 2016 will take place between 29th April to the 1st May inclusive, once again giving Yorkshire a change to show off its fantastic scenery & historic market towns - plus lots & lots of flags!

The first stage of the 2016 Tour de Yorkshire will set off from Beverley which also played host to the race in 2015. The riders will parade around the town, passing through North Bar before heading north west to the Official Start at Beverley Racecourse. Riding on to Holme-on-the-Wolds, then Market Weighton (which also saw the race pass through in May 2015), and on westwards to a sprint point at Bubwith.
From Bubwith, the peloton will race through North Duffield and west to Cawood - scene of Dick Turpin’s famous escape from York – and on to Tadcaster, famous for its breweries. After that, riders will visit Boston Spa, Wetherby, North Deighton and Knaresborough, home of the famous ‘spotty house’ from the Tour de France, decorated with the red spots of the King of the Mountains’ jersey.
Next the riders will travel to Ripley, home of the UK’s only Hotel de Ville rather than Town Hall, and on to Pateley Bridge where the first King of the Mountain will be won at Greenhow Hill. It’s on to Grassington, then Threshfield and a return to some of the Tour de France roads, through Cracoe then Gargrave. The riders will then cross the finish line in Settle for the first time before a sprint at Giggleswick. They will complete a 12km loop back to the A65 and round to Settle town centre for the finish.
• Total stage length: 185km
• 2 x sprint points (Bubwith, Giggleswick)
• 1 x King of the Mountain (Greenhow Hill)
• Total ascent: 1,832m
Stage Two marks an important milestone for the Tour de Yorkshire, as the women’s race will be held on exactly the same route as the men’s race. The women’s race starts in the morning and the men’s race will begin in the early afternoon.
The route begins in Otley, home town of current women's road World Champion Lizzie Armitstead. The Official Start is at Pool-in-Wharfedale, before the riders face an early King/Queen of the Mountain challenge at Harewood Bank, before heading south east towards another King/Queen of the Mountain at East Rigton, then to Thorner and a sprint at Scholes, then to Barwick-in-Elmet crossing the A1 at Aberford. Riders will then go past Lotherton Hall, into Sherburn-in-Elmet, down to South Milford and Monk Fryston before heading south to Birkin and Beal. The route then heads through Kellingley and on to Knottingley, Pontefract - home of liquorice - and Wentbridge, before North and South Elmsall, and on to hidden gem Hooton Pagnell. There is a sprint point at Warmsworth before a lap of, and King/Queen of the Mountain, at 11th century Conisbrough Castle. The peloton will then head towards Tickhill and Bawtry before racing along the perimeter of Doncaster Sheffield Airport, past Doncaster Racecourse and onto a sprint finish on South Parade.
• Total stage length: 136km
• Same route for men and women
• 2 x sprint points (Scholes, Warmsworth)
• 3 x King/ Queen of the Mountain (Harewood Bank, East Rigton, Conisbrough Castle)
• Total ascent: 1,110m
If Stages One and Two are for the sprinters, Stage Three will certainly appeal to the climbers. With an elevation of 2,593 metres and six King of the Mountain classifications, the route begins in Middlesbrough - birth place of Captain James Cook - and takes the riders on a challenging and technical route through much of the stunning North York Moors National Park. From the start at Middlesbrough's MIMA Gallery, they travel south over the Official Start on the outskirts of Nunthorpe on the A172, through Great Ayton - home of the Captain Cook School Room - and on to Stokesley, Hutton Rudby, Winton and down to Northallerton.
From there, the riders head to Thirsk’s market square where there will be a sprint point, before the infamous Sutton Bank and a King of the Mountain. Onwards to Helmsley - winner of Britain’s Best Market Town - then to Kirkbymoorside and heading north to Hutton-le-Hole and a King of the Mountain at Blakey Ridge. The peloton will recognise Castleton and many of the villages towards Whitby as the route is similar to that for the 2015 race. There will be a King of the Mountain at Grosmont, and riders will pass through Sleights and Ruswarp before dipping down to Whitby. There is a sprint point at Whitby Abbey, before the race makes a visit to Hawsker. Next up is a battle over a King of the Mountain at Robin Hood’s Bay, before another King of the Mountain at Harwood Dale. From there it’s on to East Ayton and Irton, before a final King of the Mountain at Oliver’s Mount and a sprint finish in Scarborough’s North Bay.
• Total stage length: 198km
• 2 x sprint points (Thirsk and Whitby Abbey)
• 6 x King of the Mountain (Sutton Bank, Blakey Ridge, Grosmont, Robin Hood’s Bay, Harwood Dale and Oliver’s Mount)
• Total ascent: 2,593m

Men’s Teams Competing in 2016
BMC Racing Team, Team Sky, Team Katusha, Orica GreenEDGE, Team Giant Alpecin, Dimension Data, Direct Energie, Topsport Vlaanderen Baloise, Team Lotto NL Jumbo, Team Cofidis Solutions Credits, Team Roompot, ONEPro Cycling, NFTO, Team WIGGINS, Great Britain Cycling Team, Madison Genesis, JLT Condor and Raleigh GAC

Women’s Team Competing in 2016

Wiggle High5, Lares Waowdeals, Cyclance Pro Cycling, Hitec Products, Team Liv-Plantur, Podium Ambition p/b Club La Santa, Drops Cycling Team, Ale’Cippolin, Great Britain National Team, Boot Out Breast Cancer Cycling Team, Team Breeze, Team WNT, Team Footon Velosport, Fusion RT Fierlan, Team Ford EcoBoost, Les Filles Racing Team and Team Jadan Weldtite
There are 8 British women’s teams competing.